Fouls
hand signal
17.1. Dangerous Play:
-
17.1.1. Actions demonstrating reckless disregard for the safety of fellow players, or posing significant risk
of injury to fellow players, or other dangerously aggressive behaviours, are considered dangerous
play and must be treated as a foul, regardless of whether or when contact occurs. This rule is not
superseded by any other foul rule. If the dangerous play call is accepted, this must be treated as
the most relevant foul from Section 17.
17.2. Receiving Fouls:
-
17.2.1. A Receiving Foul occurs when a player initiates non-minor contact with an opponent before,
while, or directly after, either player makes a play on the disc.
-
17.2.1.1. Contact with an opponent's arms or hands, that occurs after the disc has been caught, or
after the opponent can no longer make a play on the disc, is not a sufficient basis for a foul,
but should be avoided (excluding contact related to Section 17.1 and 17.3).
-
17.2.2. After an accepted receiving foul the fouled player gains possession at the location of the breach,
even if that location is in an end zone, and play restarts with a check. If, after the check, 14.3
applies, the stall count can not be started until a pivot point is established at the nearest location
on the goal line. If the foul is contested, the disc is returned to the thrower.
17.3. Strip Fouls:
-
17.3.1. A Strip Foul occurs when an opponent fouls a player and that causes the player to drop a disc
they caught or to lose possession of the disc.
-
17.3.2. If the reception would have otherwise been a goal, and the foul is accepted, a goal is awarded.
17.4. Blocking Fouls:
17.4.1. A Blocking Foul occurs when a player takes a position that an opponent moving in a legal manner
will be unable to avoid, taking into account the opponents expected position based on their
established speed and direction, and non-minor contact results. This is to be treated as either a
receiving foul or an indirect foul, whichever is applicable.
17.5. Force-out Fouls:
17.5.1. A Force-out Foul occurs when a receiver is in the process of establishing possession of the disc,
and is fouled by a defensive player before subsequently establishing possession, and the contact
caused the receiver:
17.5.1.1. to catch the disc out-of-bounds instead of in-bounds; or
17.5.1.2. to catch the disc in the central zone instead of their attacking end zone.
17.5.2. If the receiver would have caught the disc in their attacking end zone, it is a goal;
17.5.3. If the force-out foul is contested, the disc is returned to the thrower if the receiver became outof-bounds, otherwise the disc stays with the receiver.